A Spirit of Expectancy

January 5, 2009 ur4given2008

So this was the word that God gave me last night but before I get into sharing what is on my heart I want to say that in 2009 as I seek the Lord with ALL my heart He is going to take me to a higher level and my notes on facebook/myspace will become more intense as I share with you what God is doing in my life. God is taking my journaling to a whole new level where He will reveal things to me that I have never heard before. So buckle your belts, hang on and get ready for more in-depth notes.

So as I was laying on my couch last night I heard God say: “Remain in a spirit of expectancy and have an expectant heart.” I did not really know what that meant until I laid there and meditated on it all night and all day today.

Expectancy comes from the root word expect has 3 meanings:
1. to wait stay
2. to look forward/anticipate
3. to be pregnant

A spirit of expectancy is when you are expecting God to do something in your life; something only He can do. Have you ever heard testimonies of how God has changed people’s lives and you said to yourself,” I want God to do that in my life!”? When we hear testimonies of how God moves it takes our anticipation for the Lord to a brand new level.

Luke 2:36-38
Now there was one, Anna, a prophetess, the daughter of Phanuel, of the tribe of Asher. She was of a great age, and had lived with a husband seven years from her virginity; 37 and this woman was a widow of about eighty-four years, who did not depart from the temple, but served God with fastings and prayers night and day. 38 And coming in that instant she gave thanks to the Lord, and spoke of Him to all those who looked for redemption in Jerusalem

Anna, the great prohetess in Luke long awaited the return of the Lord to come and redeem Israel. I believe the more she prayed, the more her faith increased and the greater her expectancy for the Lord to come became. In Luke 2:38 it says at that moment which means at that very moment she had a visitation from the Lord and gave thanks. The very person she had been expecting showing up and all she could do was to give thanks.

Is there something that you long for? something you desire? something you are expecting to receive from the Lord? Then seek out the Lord like NEVER before and don’t stop until you get what you are expecting. With great expectancy, comes great faith. FAITH unlocks the door for God to come. Expectancy opens your heart and better enables you to hear and receive from the Lord those things your heart so desires.

What the world seems to offer us most times leaves us unfilled and longing for more. What the Lord offers us leaves us filled every single time and pushes us to keep going back for more and more. It’s kind of like food. When we eat a little it fills us and then when we are hungry we go back and eat more. Just as with a spirit of expectancy, when God gives us those things we are expecting to receive, when we receive them we go back for more.

The things I am expecting God to do in my life to man looks impossible but I serve a God who can do the IMPOSSIBLE!!!! What I am expecting are NOT things that the world offers but only what God can offer and they are things that will totally change and transform my life to be more like Him.

We can compare expectancy to our everyday lives. We expect to eat, to be dressed, to have a place to lay our head, to go to work, to pay bills and then there are other times of expectancy like when your birthday comes and you get a gift or opening presents on Christmas morning.

The times when expectancy becomes interesting is when we get suprises. I like suprises don’t you? God is one the best persons to suprise us with gifts from Him. There have been times when I expected God to do this or do that and He did something else instead and I was more blessed by the “something else” that He did than what I actually expected Him to do.

There is no limit on what we can expect God to do!! He is God and is bigger than any of us and He has the power and authority to do those things we ask, seek, desire and yearn for. What we receive from God depends on our level of expectancy. If we expect little, we will receive little. If we expect mountains to be moved and for Him to do the impossible, then He will!! Expectancy and faith goes hand and hand. When we pray and then God gives our faith increases which in turn increases our level of expectancy.

I want my level of expectancy to be so big that not even the devil can stop God from giving me the things I ask and then expect to receive. Expectancy also requires waiting. When we expect something, we don’t get it the exact moment we ask for it. Sometimes we have to wait for the right time or place to receive it.

Psalm 107:9
For He satisfies the long soul and fills the hungry soul with goodness

Psalm 27:13
I would have lost heart unless I had believed that I would see the goodness of the LORD in the land of the living

Psalm 27:4

One thing I have desired of the LORD that I will seek; that I may dwell in the house of the LORD all the days of my life, to behold the beauty of the LORD and to inquire in His temple

Revelation 22:17
And the Spirit and the Bride say, “Come! And let him who hears say, “Come!” And let him who thirsts come. Whoever desires, let him take of the water of life freely

Revelation 21:1-3
1 Now I saw a new heaven and a new earth, for the first heaven and the first earth had passed away. Also there was no more sea. 2 Then I, John, saw the holy city, New Jerusalem, coming down out of heaven from God, prepared as a bride adorned for her husband. 3 And I heard a loud voice from heaven saying, “Behold, the tabernacle of God is with men, and He will dwell with them, and they shall be His people. God Himself will be with them and be their God.

As Pastor Greg said this morning: “This is a year of miracles.” So expect!! Expect God to move in your lives like NEVER before and ask God to give you the desires of your heart. Whatever you are expecting the Lord to do, hold onto it and keep pressing in until you have received it!!!! Don’t let go of what you expect just because you didn’t get it right then or you didn’t get it the way “you” thought you were going to get it. As Matthe 7:7 says, “Ask, Seek, and Knock.” Perserverance is the key!!

Lord, I thank you that there is no limit on what I can expect from you and for what I can expect you to do in my life because you are a good God and you long and desire to give good gifts to your children. As I wait upon You with anticipation, impregnant me with the things that are on Your heart. Keep drawing me back time after time until my level of expectancy reaches the point where there is NOTHING I can’t ask you for. I long to gaze upon your beauty and to have a glimpse into the Heavenlies and the Spirit realm. There is NOTHING you can’t do because you are the God of the POSSIBLE. Take me to the place of asking things, that to man seem impossible. I worship you and my heart longs for so much that I cannot speak it all. Overwhelm me, Overtake me, consume my life with You!! I love you!!

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Mar »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Most Recent Posts

 
